O -One Other Project

I’m going to blame my wife again…perhaps I do this too much, but this time it’s a good blame (if there is such a thing). She suggested that I start printing bookmarks to include with cards…just because.

Bookmarks, I can do that.

So, what to put on them? A bookish quote, you say? Sounds like an excuse to use some Twain.

It turns out that Mark Twain wrote a fantastic essay called, “Fenimore Cooper’s Literary Offenses” about Copper’s book The Dearslayer. It’s not all that flattering an essay (sorry Cooper fans), but it includes a series of ‘rules’ for writing that are perfect for my bookmark project.

  1. “…a tale shall accomplish something and arrive somewhere.”
  2. “…the episodes in a tale shall be necessary parts of the tale, and shall help to develop it.”
  3. “…the personages in a tale shall be alive, except in the case of corpses, and that always the readers shall be able to tell the corpses from the others.”
  4. “…the personages in a tale, both dead and alive, shall exhibit a sufficient excuse for being there.”

(http://twain.lib.virginia.edu/projects/rissetto/offense.html)

Nice, huh?

I’ve set them in Goudy Light, 12pt…one of my favorite typefaces that I own.

IMG_2561
Four Twain Quotes set in Goudy Light 12pt

Now, besides my other projects, I need to cut some paper and print up some bookmarks. My wife has volunteered to fold them and add magnets—it was her idea after all…

Want one?

3 thoughts on “O -One Other Project

Leave a Reply

